Bowls Canada Logo Bowls Canada Boulingrin
FacebookLinked InTwitterYoutube Flickr

Back to News Releases

Medal Rounds Set to Begin at the 2017 Canadian Championships

Victoria, B.C.| August 18, 2017

The finals are set for the 2017 Canadian Lawn Bowling Championships in Victoria, B.C.
On the men’s side, the pairs will be a battle of brothers as the defending champions Jon and Michael Pituley from Saskatchewan will battle against Ontario’s Dave and Rob Steffen in the gold medal match. The bronze medal match will feature Terry O’Neil and Doug McLearn from Nova Scotia against Alberta’s Greg Wilson and Derek Dillon.

In the men’s triples, Ontario’s Wayne Wright, Jim Roth and Tom Roth will take on Saskatchewan’s Alex Scott, Grant Wilkie, and Murray Pituley. In the bronze medal match, Steve Ogden, Steve Bezanson and Mike Hadley of Nova Scotia will take on Lyall Mix, Everett Zwiers, and Scott Fisher of Ontario. Both Nova Scotia and Ontario beat Alberta A in tiebreakers to advance to the bronze medal match.

Men’s fours will feature Pat Bird, Lyall Adams, Francis Standen and Herman Cooper of Alberta in the gold medal match against Ontario’s Gord Legacy, Martin Foxhall, Earle Friedman and David Llewellyn. The bronze medal match will feature Ontario’s Dave Houtby, Murray Wright, Barry Mills and Ian Macpherson against British Columbia’s Christie Grahame, Stephen Yung, Stanley Chow and Clement Law. British Columbia’s fours team had to beat a tough rink from Quebec in order to advance to the bronze medal match.

Over on the women’s side, the pairs will see Nova Scotia’s Lena Cameron and Patti Granville in the gold medal game against Shirley Fitzpatrick-Wong and Clarice Fitzpatrick of Manitoba. British Columbia’s Lynda Robbins and Patricia Levie will face off against Cindy Higgins and Carol Finlayson of Ontario for the bronze.

In the women’s triples, Laila Hassan, Chrystal Shephard, and Helena Ho from Ontario will take on British Columbia’s Jenny Siu, Rainbow Lung, and Lisa Cheung in the gold medal game. The bronze medal match will showcase Jan Robinson, Jennifer MacDonald, and Pat Vos of Alberta against Ontario’s Sue Roth, Michelle Whitehead, and Laurie Roth. Ontario had to beat Quebec in a tiebreaker in order to advance to the bronze medal match.

The women’s fours will feature the only undefeated team of the event, British Columbia’s Josephine Lee, Pricilla Westlake, Sarina Mak, and Gigi Chan, taking on a strong team from Manitoba featuring Elaine Jones, Betty Van Walleghem, Brenda Frank, and Sandra Mulholland. The bronze medal match will be between Nova Scotia’s Debbie Foster, Tammy Foster-Veinot, Lorraine Bezanson, and Jackie Foster, and British Columbia’s Mary Wright, Annie Mathie, Belle Chan, and Anne Van Bastelaere. British Columbia beat Nova Scotia in a tiebreaker to make it to the bronze medal match, while Nova Scotia then beat Alberta to make it to the bronze as well.  


Men’s medal matches will begin at 9am while women’s medal matches will begin at 10am. Games will be streamed at

Results and standing:

For more information, please contact:
Sarah Moss, Communications Coordinator, Bowls Canada Boulingrin

About Bowls Canada Boulingrin
Bowls Canada Boulingrin (BCB) is the governing body responsible for lawn bowls in Canada.  The BCB mission is to advance the sport of bowls in Canada.  For more details on Bowls Canada Boulingrin and the sport of lawn bowls, visit

About the 2017 Canadian Championships
The 2017 Canadian Lawn Bowling Championships are an annual outdoor championship that feature both men and women competing across three disciplines: pairs, triples and fours. They will be held at the Juan De Fuca Lawn Bowling Club in Victoria, British Columbia from August 14th to 19th, 2017.